District Profile


Bajura District Coordination Committee (DCC), formerly called Bajura District lies in the Province No. 7 of far-western region of Nepal. Bajura with Martadi as its headquarters, covers an area of 2,188 km² and had a population of 134,912 in 2011 census. Bajura has 4 Municipalities and 5 Rural Municipalities. Bajura is situated in Longitude between 81º 10’ 20” to 81º 48’ 27” East and Latitude 29º 16’ 21” to 29º 56’ 56” North. Geographically the district is divided in three distinct regions from north to south viz. Higher Himalayan Region, Higher Mountain and mid – Mountains. The Higher Himalayan region comprises of Saipal Himalayan range; High Mountain region comprises of Doha Lekh and Ghori Lekh. Similarly, Mid-Mountain range comprises different ranges of mountains e.g. Malika Temple. Bajura has started from 300m to 6400m in height. The annual rainfall is about 13,433 mm and temperatures vary from 0 ºC to 40 ºC. The livelihood of more than 80% of the population depends on agriculture farming, mainly small scale livestock. Due to low level of agricultural production, the majority of the households face acute food shortages for a large part of the year.

Map of Nepal indicating Bajura District Coordination Committee (DCC)

According to the National Census 2011, the total population of Bajura is 134,912 comprising 69,106 female (51%) and 65,806 male (49%) residing in 24,908 households. Bajura has an average population density of around 62 people per square km. The average family size is 5.4. Life expectancy of the people is 58 years. The average literacy rate is about 32%. Bajura  has a multi ethnic composition with Chhetri, Kami, Thakuri, Brahman, Magar, Damai, Sarki, Newar, Sherpa, Rai kirati and Sanyashi (Giri and Puri). The common language is Nepali (96%) followed by Bhote Sherpa (0.46%) and Tamang (0.42 %). 

Although accessibility to Bajura is very poor, this is improving rapidly. The Government strategy is mainly focused on the connection of municipalities with all-weather motor able roads to SRN or District headquarters. Moreover, the DCC body of Bajura has given higher priority on rural roads.